The Story So Far…

So, I announced my pregnancy, and then I disappeared. I’ve had so many lovely comments from people, so thank you. We are very excited, but at the same time wondering how we are going to cope with two!

I found out I was pregnant on August 1st, very early on actually, I was only 3 weeks and 3 days. I left it a few days before I went to the GP, because I wanted to make sure it was really happening, and not another chemical pregnancy/early miscarriage again. Quite frankly, I’m not sure how I would have coped with another. But at the same time, I knew I couldn’t leave it too long before I went to the GP because I had to be referred to the endocrine team because of my thyroid.

To be totally honest, I thought that if anything was going to make for a complicated pregnancy, it would be because of my 6 months of chemo. I was wrong. What makes for a complicated pregnancy, is my thyroid, or lack of. I never thought that not having a thyroid would class me as a high risk pregnancy. Apparently, it does.

I need to have blood tests every 4 weeks to monitor my thyroxine and calcium levels. I must have extra growth scans at 28, 32 and 36 weeks. Because mum is a diabetic, I must have a Gestational Diabetes test done at 26 weeks, add to the mix that I am rhesus negative, and because of my chemo I must have an ECG done fairly soon and another one done in my last trimester.

The hospital I am under has a very lovely birthing centre. I was unable to use it when I was having Jake, because I had a bleed at 35 weeks and therefore they wanted to monitor me in labour. We were really upset about this, because we had agreed that we were going to have a home birth. So this time, I really wanted at least a birthing centre birth, but it’s looking like that won’t be allowed. However, if all of these tests I’m having come back normal, I will ask again, and ask for a second opinion if necessary.

I am now 12 weeks and 1 day pregnant, but don’t have my official dating scan until Thursday (12+6) and the wait is driving me crazy, although I think we need to take out a second mortgage for the scan pictures we want to buy as they are a whopping £6 each!

We paid for a private scan at 7 weeks and saw a little heartbeat flickering away, and we had a scan at 10 weeks as I had some spotting and some pain, so the doctor sent me to our local Early Pregnancy Unit for a scan. Again, all was fine and we saw a tiny baby measuring 31mm with a healthy heartbeat. So we decided to announce it to our friends and family because they say that if you see a heartbeat at 10 weeks, the chances of miscarriage drop to 1%. Fairly good odds, I’d say.

I have felt completely different throughout this pregnancy to how I was with Jake. I was never sick with Jake, but this time I have been very sick. The lovely Jax is very kindly sending me some  Lillipops Iced Soothies designed for pregnancy nausea.

So that, in a fairly big nutshell is the pregnancy so far. I’m so glad to be able to share this new journey with you, rather than a cancer one!

3 thoughts on “The Story So Far…

  1. Pingback: The Week It All Went Wrong | Life, Love and Lollipops

Leave a Reply

