How Will he Cope?

It’s quite scary to think I’m almost halfway through this pregnancy, and apart from prenatal vitamins, I’ve not bought a single thing.

I’m starting to worry about how Jake will cope with a new addition to the family. He is used to being the centre of attention and everything in his little world revolves around him. I keep talking to him about his baby brother, and if you ask him where the baby is, his reply is always “In Mummy’s tummy”. He’ll give the baby a kiss, and if he accidentally knocks my bump, he’ll say “Sorry baby” and give it a kiss.  But then, he also thinks he’s got a baby in his tummy, and hubby has a baby in his tummy too.

I worry that it will be a shock to the system for him and he won’t know how to deal with it. I don’t want him to be jealous or to think that we love him any less. I am planning to breastfeed and don’t know how he’ll cope with that.

There are lots of things I don’t know, and I don’t like it. I want someone to tell me it will all be okay and that Jake will love the new baby as much as we do.

I’m not close to my siblings, and I really want Jake and his brother to be best friends and to always be there for each other, but I imagine I’m not alone in that and that every mother wants their children to be close.

So, are there any wise words of wisdom from mummies with more than one child on how to prepare the older sibling for the arrival of the new one??

7 thoughts on “How Will he Cope?

  1. hey chick please dont fret its amazing how well and quickly they adjust.involve him as much as u can before and after baby is here.will chat more later xx

  2. Well I’m certainly NO expert…. I only have 10 weeks experience of having 2 kids… but so far my experience has been this:
    For the first day or two LIttle Moo was awe-struck that ‘this’ was her little brother. After that the jealousy kicked in and she started playing up. Even telling me things like “Throw him on the floor”. But after about 2 weeks she seemed to get used to the idea that Little Brother is here to stay and that she is still important. I keep reminding her that she was the first baby in mommy’s tummy and that makes her very special.

  3. Oh how I feel exactly the same! 😦 Everyday I think of something new to add to my list of worries. Oli doesnt understand either that I’m pregnant and I’m worried about where his understanding will be be when baby pops out. I’m hoping to breastfeed too so dont know if that will freak him out! :/ xx

    • It’s so hard. I want him to feel involved, so we are taking him along to all of the appointments, but I’m not sure how much he understands. I don’t want him to feel left out or unloved, but I worry that he will x

  4. We’re going through pretty much the same thing; wondering whether Abs will get jealous and tantrummy or get protective and loving.

    To be quite honest, I have come to the conclusion that it depends on what day it is and how she wakes up as to what mood she’ll be in 🙂

Leave a Reply

