Before I go to Sleep – Book Review

Title: Before I go to Sleep

By: S J Watson

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Transworld

Release Date: April 2011

IBSN:  978-0-552-16413-9

Synopsis:

Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?

Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight.

And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life. 

My Review:

I am usually a “chick lit” kind of girl, so when I was sent this Richard and Judy book club title through the post by WHSmith to review, I didn’t know how I’d get on with it.

I started reading it in hospital when I’d been woken up at 6am by a midwife wanting to do my obs. By lunchtime, I was already half way through and didn’t want to put it down.

When I told my husband about it, he was quite dismissive because he’d heard similar stories before. I think it’s because a few months ago, we watched “50 First Dates” on TV. This is nothing like that.

The story follows a lady called Christine, who lives with her husband and wakes up every day with no memories about her life. Every day, she wakes up not knowing who the man beside her is, not remembering her friends, her family. Every day she has to be told that she lost her memory in an accident. She learns she has been meeting with a doctor to try and help her regain her memories, and he has been encouraging her to keep a journal. Every day, he calls her to remind her of this and tells her where she keeps it. The book is mainly Christine’s diary entries.

As soon as we start reading the book, we know something strange is going on, because in the front of the journal, Christine has written “DON’T TRUST BEN”. As we follow the story, we piece things together as she does, and it comes to a dramatic conclusion in which we find out why she shouldn’t trust him.

This was S J Watson’s début novel, and I was really impressed. I expected S J Watson to be a woman, as it was written from Christine’s point of view, so I was really surprised when I found out that “she” was actually a he.

I loved this book and would definitely recommend it.

5 out of 5 from me.

You can buy this book from WHSmith. Go on. You know you want to.

*WHSmith provided me with a copy of the book to review, but no other payment has been received and all views are my own. 

2 thoughts on “Before I go to Sleep – Book Review

  1. Pingback: book review: before i go to sleep by sj watson | the musings of monique

  2. I absolutely loved this book , hence why I too have done a book review on it i finished and was like OMG but it a good way (which is always nice !) xx

Leave a Reply

