Naming Ceremony

Yesterday, I wrote most of the script for the Naming Ceremony we are having for our boys in June. .

We never had a big wedding – we got married abroad, and we aren’t religious so wouldn’t feel right getting the boys christened, but wanted to do something to celebrate them. The purpose is to recognise and celebrate the arrival of a child and welcome him or her in the family and circle of friends. The parents choose “mentors”, “guide parents” or “supporting adults”.

We have a friend of ours performing the ceremony for us, and we have asked five friends, and Neil’s sister act as “guide parents” for the boys. I just need Neil to add few bits, and it’s done.

I’m a bit nervous about it, especially as I have written it myself, but ultimately, I am looking forward to it and sharing the day with family and friends.

Has anyone else had a naming ceremony for their little ones? What did everyone else think of it?

2 thoughts on “Naming Ceremony

  1. It’s a lovely idea. We went to my friends ceremony recently and it was a lovely way to celebrate the birth of a child. I didn’t o anything for ours and kind of regret it now.

Leave a Reply

