Breastfeeding in Public #keepbritainbf

The first time I breast fed in public was at the register office when we went to register Jake at 12 days old. I was a bit nervous, but I got over it very quickly.

I’ve always been a bit nervous about someone coming up to me and asking me to stop feeding, or telling me it’s inappropriate, but luckily it has never happened. And if it did, I’m pretty sure I would tear strips off them, and if I didn’t, my hubby would. In fact, the only time someone has ever commented on my breastfeeding was when Jake was tiny and I was sat on a bench outside a shopping centre feeding him and a lady came up to me and said “Well done!” and carried on her way.

It can be quite daunting feeding in public for the first time, but don’t let it put you off. It does get easier.

  • If you feel nervous, make sure you have someone with you for the first time.
  • Choose clothing appropriately. I tend to prefer loose tops that I can lift up, then I pull it down to his face so that no breast is exposed but I can still see him and he can see me. On the odd occasion that I have a top that I need to pull down, I have a muslin or scarf handy to make me feel less exposed. Some women like to wear a vest top under a loose fitting top.
  • Don’t feel like you need to hide away in a toilet. You wouldn’t want to eat in a public loo, so neither would your baby.
  • Don’t be made to feel uncomfortable feeding in public. The Equality Act 2010 has made it illegal for anyone to ask a breastfeeding woman to leave a public place such as a cafe, shop or public transport.
  • Remember, breastfeeding is completely natural and there is nothing inappropriate about it. If someone has a problem with it, that is exactly what it is – their problem. Smile, nod and carry on.

Congratulations. You have found the scavenger hunt logo. This week, I also have an extra competetion to win a £15 voucher to use at BoobieMilk.

Thank you for reading.  Please complete the following to enter the competition for the Keep Britain Breastfeeding Grand Prize:

Leave a comment on this blog telling me what your top tip for feeding in public is.

For extra entries:

Go to the Life, Love and Lollipops Facebook page and “like” and  ”share” the hunt with your Facebook friends.

Tweet the following: I’m taking part in the Keep Britain Breastfeeding Scavenger hunt via @rozzibee http://wp.me/p1Fanz-5Y #keepbritainbf

Leave a separate comment for each thing you have done.

Happy Hunting!

If you have enjoyed reading, you can find other bloggers taking part in the scavenger hunt here:

A New Addition
Edspire
Mummy Constant
Radical Ramblings
Life Happens so Smile

24 thoughts on “Breastfeeding in Public #keepbritainbf

  1. In June of 2008 my son was 5 months old and I was called toswear the pledge and become a US Citizen at the Federal building in Baltimore. All Federal Buildings in the US have protection for breastfeeding Mums (just so you know) and he fed throughout the entire ceremony. We just couldn’t bare to leave him at the daycare providers.

  2. My top feeding in public tip is don’t fret! I have breastfed my sons in public and never had any negative comments – I was anxious at first about possible comments and my anxiety passed to the baby, I was worried unnecessarily.

  3. My top tip would be firstly dont worry about what other people think and relax, but i also loved the baby sling i used with my daughter it was so convenient and if you do feel concious of people around you it helps you to keep everything covered so no one is any the wiser of what you and your little one are doing. I will definately be wanting another when bump arrives : )

  4. My top tip is to buy a sling or top where you can see what is going on. I bought a breastfeeding shawl but hated it as I couldn’t see my son feed. His latch was never that good so I needed to see how he was latched on

  5. My top tip would be to find your local support/peer supporters/breastfeeding group before baby is born so you can get to know them, this makes it much easier to contact them after baby is born; faces to names and voices. It good to know you have support from people who you know and are familiar with and that you trust. And you can practice feeding in public at the group whilst chatting and finding all the good comfortable friendly places to do feed out and about.

  6. Top tip would be lots of muslin cloths to catch the drips/fountain when baby gets distracted and comes of your breast! I think all the others have all been said.

  7. I’ve honestly never had a problem breastfeeding in public, once I got over my initial nerves, so my advice would be to go for it. Practice at home, mainly so you remember to cover yourself properly 😉

  8. My top tip for nursing in public is make sure you feel confident and happy: if this means using a cover, finding somewhere a little less exposed, doing it with others, or taking your entire top off it doesn’t really matter (ok the last one might cause some problems). Breastfeeding is between you and your baby so you are the only people that need to be happy

  9. Pingback: Things Not to Say to a Breastfeeding Mother #keepbritainbf | Life, Love and Lollipops

  10. My top tip for feeding in public is double layer your tops and act normal and relax if you feel uncomfy your baby will not latch as well. Most people have no idea that’s what your doing and wouldn’t even consider that you were so just relax and don’t worry!

  11. my husband and I are expats in Thailand and I gave birth to my baby boy here a couple of years ago. I wasnt sure then if public breastfeeding in Thai culture is okay but i did nursed my son on a subway train once. i was so embarassed, i did it discreetly but eyes were still on me. but this article says its alright though http://www.thailand-family-law-center.com/?p=391

  12. my top tip is to offer a feed just before I think needed so we don’t feel rushed and there is no wriggling or crying, also if anyone looks just smile back

  13. I’m 37 weeks pregnant, so don’t have any tips, but have really enjoyed reading yours. Can’t wait for baby boy to arrive now!

  14. My top tip is to buy some cheap strappy tops that you can wear under normal tops. Then when you need to feed, just do one up, one down. Voila, no flashing 🙂

Leave a Reply

