The Gruffalo said that no Gruffalo should…

…ever set foot in the deep dark wood.

Jake is a huge fan of The Gruffalo. I must admit, I like it too. I think Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler have created some wonderful books. I was really impressed when the TV adaption of The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo’s Child came out and Jake owns them both on DVD (thanks Amy!)

So when I was given the opportunity to take Jake to see The Gruffalo’s Child stage show, I took it with both hands. I had taken him to see The Gruffalo over the summer (which he loved), so wanted to see how this compared.

Neil, Jake, I and some other lovely bloggers went to Birmingham Town Hall on 23rd December to see the performance.

I knew the set up from having seen the previous show, but still didn’t fail to be impressed that the whole show is made up of just three actors who were also in charge of set changes, one female playing the mouse, another playing the Gruffalo’s child and one very energetic male who played the fox, the owl and the snake!

The show was 55 minutes long which I think was the right amount of time. It is aimed at children aged 3+ though there were younger children there. You can hire booster seats for a small charge of £1 if you are worried about whether your little one will be able to see.

The show is on at Birmingham until 16th Jan, but Tall Stories, the production company have lots of other shows around the country that you might be able to see. I would definitely recommend seeing one, we all had a wonderful time.

*The Town Hall provided some tickets for the show, but as there were more of us that wanted to go than tickets available, we bought extras. All views are my own. 

4 thoughts on “The Gruffalo said that no Gruffalo should…

  1. Pingback: Review of our trip to see the Gruffalo's Child at Birmingham Town Hall | Yellow Days

Leave a Reply

