Week 1 Weigh Day

The results are in, and I can reveal I lost 3.5lbs on my first week of Weight Watchers (I’m also still taking the XLS Medical).

It has by no means been easy, and I have to say I found Slimming World A LOT easier to follow, but I needed a change, a different plan to follow. I knew it so well, that it just wasn’t working.

So, I started on 27 points, and because of my loss, I’m now down to 26 *sob*.

I do have some concerns about my group leader though. She did her introductory chat to me at the end of group last week. Told me that she joined WW twenty-something years ago, reached her target and has been a group leader ever since.

My first thought was “Yes, but you’re not at target now, are you?” Is that mean of me? Perhaps, however, she’s encouraging (supposedly, I’ll get onto that in a minute) us to lose weight, but she’s not in a healthy BMI range of 20-25, and that is what Weight Watchers aim is. Your target has to be in the healthy BMI range if you are ever to become a Gold Member (Slimming World lets you choose your own target, even if it’s not in the healthy BMI).

20130306-123846.jpg

Last night, she wanted us all to write down a goal on our weigh in records. We had to have a goal in mind for the week after Easter. Something we want to achieve, something achievable It could be a particular weight we want to be by then, the next dress size down, the next hole in your belt etc. I wrote down that I wanted a total of 10lb loss by then. Not unachievable as I’ve already lost 3.5lb, so it’s only another 6.5, over 4 weeks, that’s less than 2lb a week. She asked for people to tell her what they had written down. As I’m new to the group, and quite shy (yes, really!) I didn’t put my hand up to volunteer my goal. Another lady did though, and her goal was to lose 7lb between now and then. The leaders response? “Well that’s silly isn’t it? How are you going to feel if you don’t reach that? You’ll feel awful” So the other lady sheepishly changed her goal to a loss of 4lbs.

Now, I get that she doesn’t want us to be disappointed but we are all there to lose weight, we have all been referred by our GP’s so it’s not like we don’t have the weight to lose, so I was really shocked at her attitude.

The other thing that irked me is that she didn’t tell me I’ve dropped down to 26 points. It was only because I registered for “esource” (where I can track online and on my phone/iPad) that I found out. If I hadn’t of done that, I wouldn’t have known and could have jeopardised my own weight loss without even knowing.

I really want to do this, and I want to do it well. Luckily, I am part of a wonderful online community and have some lovely friends that are helping me out and letting me rant at them! Thank you, you know who you are πŸ™‚

So, onwards and inwards!

 

5 thoughts on “Week 1 Weigh Day

  1. that’s what i hate about weight loss clubs – the no. of people who have been going for years and years and who lose the weight, put in back on, loss some more etc I suppose for WW it’s not a bad thing if it becomes a life long lifestyle rather than a permanent fix, more money that way. Well done on the 3.5lb though – that’s brilliant for wk 1

    • I think that’s what I’m hoping, for it to be a lifestyle change. I’ve got a year paid for as I’ve been referred by my GP after me asking for help. I want to make it work, I think I feel more obliged because I’m not paying for it if that makes sense?x

  2. high five to the knowledgeable friends πŸ˜‰ just go and do what needs to be done but use you own common sense the rest of the time. you know what’s a reasonable amount to lose without someone else to tell you. keep doing what your doing and you will be a skinny minnie in no time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

