The One Where I Worry About Breastfeeding

With just under 6 weeks to go until my due date, and with the Breastfeeding Scavenger Hunt going on, I thought it appropriate that I write a post about breastfeeding.

Just for the sake of clarity, I will start by saying (as I say a lot) I am NOT anti formula, I am PRO breastfeeding.

There is a difference.

Although, I think, even in this day and age, you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t. So I think everyone should just make the decision that’s right for them and not be judged for it. Breast or bottle, you should be supported whatever your choice.

I never made a conscious decision about breastfeeding, it was just something I knew I wanted to do,and Neil was on board. It was never a question.

I managed to feed Jake exclusively for 4 months, then combine fed until he was 7 months, when unfortunately, through no choice of my own, I had to stop completely.

With Zack, I thought I was doing OK but his weight said otherwise, and we were admitted to hospital for 24 hours, and I was pretty much forced into combined feeding. I felt like there was no support for me breastfeeding and I had to fight to have help.

After doing a bit, and I really do mean a bit, I haven’t spent hours trawling the internet or anything, but I wonder whether my thyroid has anything to do with my inability to produce enough milk for Zack. I’ve spoken to a few other mums that have thyroid issues that struggled to feed, and it just seems like too much of a coincidence, but the consultant says otherwise.

We live in another city now, and the midwife speaks very highly of the support available for breastfeeding. They have support workers that will actually come out to your house. I am wondering whether to buy a new breastpump to see if that will help too.

So yes, I am worried, but I know that some is better than none, so I will try not to beat myself up too much if I struggle again this time, but I won’t be scared to ask for help and support if I need it, and I will fight to feed for as long as I can.

2 thoughts on “The One Where I Worry About Breastfeeding

  1. you did really well! There’s way too much pressure on women. Breast feeding is tough. I found the best way to keep up supply when combination feeding is to feed at night (annoyingly..!) but if you do a feed when its dark it gets the hormones needed for lactation pumping round better in the day.

  2. I appreciate this post. 🙂 I breastfed my first son, and my twins after that and our hospital staff here in town was so helpful when I struggled with one of the twins who wasn’t excited about doing it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

